CBOFT-DT

CBOFT-DT, SRC-TV, Ottawa

Société Radio-Canada

StationAnnéeChannelNetwork AffiliateProp./Info
CBOFT-DT
2011
9.1 (9)
SRC
Société Radio Canada
CBOFT-TV
1955
9
SRC
Société Radio Canada
1954

La SRC a inauguré la station de langue anglaise CBMT, permettant ainsi à CBFT de diffuser uniquement en français à Montréal. En parallèle, la SRC planifiait de mettre en ondes une station de télévision de langue française à Ottawa. Initialement, CBOT diffusait des émissions dans la capitale dans les deux langues. Il était prévu que CBOT devienne une station uniquement de langue anglaise, une fois que la nouvelle station de langue française entrerait en ondes. Comme CBFT aurait des difficultés à fournir une programmation complète de langue française, on espérait que l'inauguration de la nouvelle station à Ottawa permettrait de répartir les coûts de la programmation entre les deux stations.
Pour l'instant, comme la SRC prévoyait avoir une seule station de télévision sur un marché donné, CBOT suivrait une directive voulant que 30% des émissions soit de langue française. CBOT est entré en ondes le 2 juin.
Le gouvernement fédéral a modifié sa politique, permettant ainsi à la SRC d'avoir une deuxième station de télévision à Ottawa ... celle-ci diffuserait uniquement en français. L'émetteur de la nouvelle station serait vraisemblablement situé dans le même bâtiment que l'émetteur de CBOT. Comme les installations de production en direct n'étaient pas encore prêtes à Ottawa, les émissions se feraient transmettre par micro-ondes à partir de Montréal ou expédier sur pellicule. À cette époque, CBOT diffusait environ 25% d'émissions en français.

 

 

1955

Le directeur de Radio-Canada pour l'Ontario, Ira Dilworth, a nommé H.G. Walker au poste de directeur adjoint pour l'Ontario.
Le 24 juin, la Société Radio-Canada a diffusé une émission inaugurale spéciale pour marquer l'entrée en ondes de CBOFT, l'augmentation de puissance de CBOT et le début des transmissions distinctes dans chacune des deux langues sur une base régulière. Cette émission a été diffusée à Québec, Montréal et par chacune des deux stations à Ottawa. Elle a compris une brève allocution dans les deux langues par l'hon. James J. McCann, ministre du Revenu national, par A. D. Dunton, président du conseil de Radio-Canada, et par Alphonse Quimet, directeur général de Radio-Canada. Produite par Pierre Normandin, l'émission a présenté des interprétations d'une série de numéros vocaux et instrumentaux faites par des artistes de la région d'Ottawa, accompagnés de Cammie Howard et son orchestre. Pour célébrer l'entrée en ondes de CBOFT, CBFT Montréal a diffusé une émission spéciale de présentation d'une demi-heure à 20h00, soit juste avant l'émission inaugurale.
CBOFT-TV opérait sur le canal 9 à partir d'un émetteur situé à Camp Fortune, au Québec. Les studios et bureaux de CBOFT se trouvaient au 250, rue Lanark à Ottawa. CBOT canal 4 avait été en ondes à Ottawa depuis 1953. Pendant un premier temps, CBOT avait diffusé dans les deux langues. Une fois CBOFT entré en ondes, CBOT allait pouvoir se consacrer à une programmation uniquement de langue anglaise.
Georges Huard a été nommé directeur de CBOFT dès la mise en ondes de la nouvelle station. Il avait été directeur de la station de radio CBAF à Moncton et s'était installe à Ottawa en 1955 en tant que superviseur des opérations de télévision de la SRC dans la ville. Il avait également servi d'adjoint de Charles Wright, directeur de CBOT-TV avant d'assumer ses nouvelles fonctions à CBOFT.

1957

1957
CBOFT avait une puissance apparente rayonnée de 31 000 watts vidéo et 17 000 watts audio.

 

1958

1958
Selon Elliott-Haynes, CBOFT atteignait à cette époque un total de 152 902 téléspectateurs adultes chaque jour.
Nommé directeur pour l'Ontario et pour les réseaux anglais, H. G. Walker a succédé à Ira Dilworth qui est devenu directeur de l'évaluation des émissions.

1964

Le 24 juillet, CBOF-AM est entré en ondes.

 

1965

La puissance apparente rayonnée de CBOFT était inchangée depuis 1957.

 

Undated

La puissance apparente rayonnée a augmenté à 128 000 watts vidéo et 25 600 watts audio.

 

1973

Le 12 janvier, le CRTC a approuvé un nouvel émetteur pour retransmettre CBOFT à Rapides-des-Joachims, Québec. Le 18 janvier, un émetteur supplémentaire de CBOFT a été approuvé à Chapleau, Québec.

 

1974

CBOF-FM est entré en ondes le 12 septembre.
A cette époque, CBOFT diffusait une heure de nouvelles locales tous les soirs, Tout à l'heure, de 18h00 à 19h00.
Le 15 décembre, CBOFT-1 Chapleau et CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims (au Québec) sont entrés en ondes.

1981

CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, Québec est entré en ondes le 15 décembre.

 

1990-91

Le 5 décembre 1990, la Société Radio-Canada a annoncé son intention de mettre en oeuvre, avec effet immédiat, diverses réductions dans les services et d'autres mesures destinées à combler un déficit budgétaire estimé à environ 108 millions de dollars pour l'exercice à venir. Parmi les réductions la SRC visait à changer le statut de CBLFT-TV Toronto (et de ses réémetteurs, y compris CBEFT Windsor): dorénavant CBLFT-TV Toronto rediffuserait à temps plein les signaux de CBOFT-TV Ottawa. Le CRTC a approuvé ces modifications en date du 28 juin 1991.

 

1993

Le 10 juin, CBOFT-TV a reçu l'autorisation de déplacer l'émetteur de CBLFT-7 Espanola du canal 11 au canal 4 et d'augmenter la puissance d'émission de 8,9 watts à 10 watts. Global Communications Limited a reçu l'autorisation d'utiliser le canal 11 à Sudbury. Dès que Global est entré en ondes, CBLFT-7 s'est déplacé au canal 4.

 

1995

Le 8 mars, le CRTC a approuvé la demande de modification de la licence de CBOFT Ottawa en déplaçant son émetteur CBLFT-24 Dubreuilville du canal 7 au canal 11. La SRC a noté que ce changement permettrait d'améliorer la qualité du service dans la région de Dubreuilville.
Le 28 août, CBOFT a reçu l'autorisation de supprimer l'émetteur de CBLFT-16 Driftwood, car entretemps ce dernier était devenu obsolète

1996

Le 25 avril CBOFT a reçu l'autorisation de diminuer la puissance rayonnée de CBLFT Toronto de 1.760.000 watts à 615 600 watts. Le changement se traduirait par une légère réduction dans les contours de couverture de la station sans pratiquement aucun impact sur le service fourni aux zones peuplées. Les zones non couvertes par CBLFT recevraient un signal de bonne qualité de CBLFT-8 Kitchener, CBLFT-11 Barrie ou CBLFT-12 Peterborough.
Le 28 août, CBOFT a reçu l'autorisation de déplacer l'émetteur de CBLFT-21 Gogama du canal 23 au canal 12 et d'en diminuer sa puissance apparente rayonnée de 4 400 watts à 468 watts. Ainsi, en remplaçant l'émetteur UHF existant par un émetteur VHF de moindre puissance, CBOFT a réduit ses coûts d'exploitation tout en maintenant la zone de couverture. 

2000

Dès cette année, les émetteurs ontariens suivants retransmettaient la programmation de CBOFT: CBEFT Windsor, CBLFT Toronto, CBLFT-1 Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-2 Sudbury, CBLFT-3 Timmins, CBLFT-4 Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5 Hearst, CBLFT-6 Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7 Espanola, CBLFT-8 Kitchener, CBLFT-9 London, CBLFT-10 Chatham, CBLFT-11 Barrie, CBLFT-12 Peterborough, CBLFT-13 Belleville, CBLFT-14 Kingston, CBLFT-15 Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17 Sarnia, CBLFT-18 Thunder Bay, Nipigon CBLFT-19, CBLFT-20 Sault-Ste-Marie, CBLFT-21 Gogama, CBLFT-22 Chapleau, CBLFT-23 Wawa, CBLFT-24 Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25 Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26 Geraldton et CBLFT-27 Mattawa. Émetteurs au Québec: CBOFT-1 Chapleau, CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims, CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, et CBFST-2 Témiscaming.

 

2004

Le 13 septembre, CBC / SRC Ottawa a inauguré ses transmissions à partir de nouveaux studios et bureaux situés au181, rue Queen. Ce transfert a mis un terme à l'éparpillement des opérations à travers la ville, les émissions radiophoniques ayant jusque-là été diffusées depuis le Château Laurier et les émission télévisées à partir de locaux situés dans la rue Lanark

 

2005

Le 21 octobre, CBOFT a reçu l'approbation d'exploiter une station de télévision numérique transitoire à Ottawa avec un émetteur à Toronto. L'émetteur à Ottawa serait exploité à partir de Camp Fortune, au Québec, sur le canal 22VU avec une puissance apparente rayonnée moyenne de 36 300 watts. L'émetteur à Toronto serait exploité à partir de la tour du CN sur le canal 24C avec une PAR de 2 500 watts. Comme CBLFT servait de station réémettrice de CBOFT, la SRC a cédé la licence numérique déjà obtenue pour CBLFT, afin de rediffuser les émissions numériques de CBOFT une fois la conversion numérique de cette dernière complétée. a rebroadcaster of CBOFT. 

 

 

2006

Le 1er septembre, CBOFT-DT a inauguré ses transmissions numériques.

2009

Le 12 mai, le CRTC a renouvelé la licence de CBOFT, y compris les réémetteurs suivants: CBOFT-DT Ottawa, CBOFT-DT-1 Toronto, CBEFT Windsor, CBLFT Toronto, CBLFT-1 Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-10 Chatham, CHLFT-11 Barrie, CBLFT -12 Peterborough, CBLFT-13 Belleville, CBLFT-14 Kingston, CBLFT-15 Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17 Sarnia, CBLFT-18 Thunder Bay, CBLFT-19 Nipigon, CBLFT-2 Sudbury, CBLFT-20 Sault-Ste-Marie, CBLFT-21 Gogama, CBLFT-22 Chapleau, CBLFT-23 Wawa, CBLFT-24 Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25 Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26 Geraldton, CBLFT-27 Mattawa, CBLFT-3 Timmins, CBLFT-4 Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5 Hearst, CBLFT-6 Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7 Espanola, CBLFT-8 Kitchener et CBLFT-9 London. Au Québec: CBFST-2 Témiscaming, CBOFT-1 Chapleau, CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims, et CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus.

 

2010

2010
Le 28 avril, le CRTC a approuvé une demande présentée par la Société Radio-Canada visant à exploiter une nouvelle station de télévision régionale à Toronto. CBLFT-TV Toronto devait diffuser un minimum de cinq heures de la programmation locale par semaine, en moyenne sur une base annuelle, destinée aux téléspectateurs de Toronto et une grande partie de l'Ontario. Le Conseil a également approuvé une demande de la SRC en vue de modifier la licence de la station CBOFT-TV Ottawa afin de transférer les émetteurs suivants à la nouvelle station de télévision régionale CBLFT-TV Toronto:

CBOFT, 2010: CBLFT-1-TV Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-2-TV Sudbury, CBLFT-3-TV Timmins, CBLFT-4-TV Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5-TV Hearst, CBLFT-6-TV Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7-TV Espanola, CBLFT-8-TV Kitchener, CBLFT-9-TV London, CBLFT-10-TV Chatham, CBLFT-11-TV Barrie, CBLFT-12-TV Peterborough, CBLFT-13-TV Belleville, CBLFT-14 -TV Kingston, CBLFT-15-TV Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17-TV Sarnia, CBLFT-18-TV Thunder Bay, CBLFT-19-TV Nipigon, CBLFT-20-TV Sault-Ste-Marie, CBLFT-21-TV Gogama, CBLFT-22-TV Chapleau, CBLFT-23-TV Wawa, CBLFT-24-TV Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25-TV Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26-TV Geraldton, CBLFT-27-TV Mattawa , CBEFT Windsor et CBFST-2-TV Témiscamingue. Le Conseil a également approuvé la demande de la SRC en vue de modifier la licence de radiodiffusion de la station CBOFT-DT Ottawa afin de transférer l'émetteur de CBLFT-DT Toronto à la nouvelle station de télévision régionale CBLFT-TV Toronto. La titulaire a fait remarquer que jusqu'en 1991, elle avait exploité une station de télévision de langue française régionale à Toronto, soit CBLFT-TV. Cette station a été fermée à la demande de la titulaire, devenant ainsi un réémetteur de la station CBOFT-TV Ottawa. La SRC souhaitait maintenant convertir l'émetteur CBLFT-TV en station régionale afin d'offrir sur une base régulière une programmation locale et régionale à la population de la région de Toronto. La SRC a précisé qu'elle offrait présentement une programmation locale lorsqu'elle effectuait un détachement de la station CBOFT-TV Ottawa. Cependant, cette offre de programmation locale ne découlait d'aucune obligation réglementaire ou de condition de licence particulière. La SRC a indiqué vouloir augmenter ses engagements à l'égard de la production d'émissions locales et régionales pour la région de Toronto. De plus, la SRC a demandé l'autorisation de solliciter de la publicité locale dans le territoire desservi par la station régionale et ses émetteurs. CBLFT devait produire au moins cinq heures par semaine, en moyenne sur une base annuelle, de programmation locale destinée aux téléspectateurs de Toronto et d'une grande partie de l'Ontario.
Aux fins de cette condition de licence, "programmation locale" signifie " programmation produite par des stations locales qui ont un personnel local ou une programmation créée par des producteurs indépendants locaux qui reflète les besoins et les intérêts propres à la population du marché de Toronto et les environs ".
Le 9 août, le CRTC a renouvelé administrativement la licence de CBOFT-DT et CBOFT (et ses émetteurs) jusqu'au 31 mars 2011.

 

2011

2011
Le 29 mars, le CRTC a renouvelé administrativement la licence de CBOFT-TV jusqu'au 31 août 2012. Le Conseil a noté qu'il n'avait pas l'intention de renouveler les autorisations pour les émetteurs analogiques de pleine puissance opérant dans les marchés obligatoires ou sur les canaux 52 à 69 à l'extérieur des marchés obligatoires au-delà du 31 août, 2011.

En ce moment, le Conseil s'attendait à ce que les titulaires reçoivent l'autorisation nécessaire pour diffuser en numérique. En outre, le Conseil a imposé la condition de licence suivante sur les stations opérant dans les marchés obligatoires ou sur les canaux 52 à 69 à l'extérieur des marchés obligatoires: sauf autorisation par le Conseil, la titulaire ne devait ni transmettre de signaux de télévision analogiques au-delà du 31 août 2011 dans les marchés obligatoires tels que définis par le Conseil dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2011-184 ni transmettre de signaux de télévision sur les canaux 52 à 69. Le CRTC a également fait remarquer que conformément à la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2010-69, il n'avait pas l'intention de renouveler les autorisations d'exploiter des émetteurs numériques transitoires inclus dans ces licences, au-delà du 31 août 2011.
Le CRTC a approuvé la modification de la licence de CBOFT-TV en vue d'ajouter un émetteur de télévision numérique post-transition sur le canal 9 avec une puissance apparente rayonnée maximale de 3 500 watts (moyenne 1800 watts). Une antenne directionnelle serait utilisée sur le site existant de Camp Fortune avec une hauteur effective de 424,9 mètres.
La date limite pour la conversion de l'analogique au numérique dans les marchés obligatoires a été fixée au 31 août. CBOFT-DT opérait sur le canal numérique transitoire 22. Le 31 août, le canal analogique 9 a été supprimé et CBOFT s'est déplacé du canal 22 transitoire vers le canal numérique post-transitoire 9 (canal analogique d'origine) - canal virtuel 9,1.

 

2012

Le 5 avril, le CRTC a approuvé la demande de la SRC visant à modifier les paramètres techniques de CBOFT-DT Ottawa en augmentant sa puissance apparente rayonnée moyenne de 1 800 à 282 000 watts (PAR maximale de 3 500 à 480 000 watts), en diminuant la hauteur effective de l'antenne au-dessus du sol moyen de 424,9 à 397,7 mètres, et en la transférant du canal 9 au canal 33. Suite à cette transition vers le numérique, la SRC a noté qu'elle avait reçu de nombreuses plaintes concernant les problèmes de réception du signal de CBOFT-DT dans la région d'Ottawa-Gatineau. La SRC a donc proposé cet amendement afin de remédier aux problèmes de réception.
Le 17 juillet, le CRTC a approuvé la demande visant à modifier les licences de 23 stations de télévision de langues anglaise et française exploitées par la Société Radio-Canada afin de supprimer toute référence aux émetteurs analogiques. La SRC prévoyait de cesser l'exploitation de tous ces émetteurs le 31 juillet 2012. Les licences pour les émetteurs suivants ont été supprimées de la licence de CBOFT-DT: CBOFT-1 Chapleau, CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, et CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims (au Québec).
Le 9 août, le CRTC a renouvelé administrativement la licence de CBOFT-DT jusqu'au 31 août 2013.

2013

Le 28 mai, le CRTC a renouvelé la licence de CBOFT-DT pour une durée de cinq ans, jusqu'au 31 août 2018.

 

CTA Donation - FR

Nous dépendons des subventions et des dons de l’industrie

Voyez nos commanditaires

CBOFT-DT

CBOFT-DT, SRC-TV, Ottawa

Société Radio-Canada

StationYearChannelNetwork AffiliateOwner/Info
CBOFT-DT
2011
9.1 (9)
SRC
Société Radio Canada
CBOFT-TV
1955
9
SRC
Société Radio Canada
1954

The CBC opened English-language CBMT in Montreal, allowing CBFT in that city to program fully in French. Around this same time, the CBC was making plans for a French-language TV outlet in Ottawa. CBOT in the capital was airing programs in both languages and would become fully English once the new station hit the airwaves. Because CBFT would now have trouble coming up with a full French-language schedule, it was hoped with the new Ottawa station, the cost of such programming could be spread out between the two outlets.
CBC now planned to have only one TV station in any given area, so CBOT would have to continue its policy of about 30% French-language programming for now. CBOT had been on the air since June 2 of this year.

The federal government amended its policy which would now allow CBC to have a second TV station in Ottawa...this one would be French-only. The transmitter for the new station would likely be housed in the same building as CBOT's. Programs would be micro-waved from Montreal or carried by film, since live production facilities were not yet completed in Ottawa. At present, CBOT carried about 25% French-language programming.

1955

H.G. Walker was appointed CBC assistant director for Ontario by the province's director, Ira Dilworth.
The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation marked the opening of CBOFT, power increase for CBOT and the start of separate language transmissions on a regular basis with a special inaugural program on June 24. The program was seen in Quebec City, Montreal and on both Ottawa stations. It included a short address in both languages by the Hon. James J. McCann, Minister of National Revenue; A.D. Dunton, CBC chairman, and Alphonse Quimet, CBC general manager. The program was produced by Pierre Normandin and presented Ottawa area artists in a series of vocal and instrumental selections, accompanies by Cammie Howard and his orchestra. The opening program was preceded at 8:00 p.m. by a half hour salute to CBOFT from Montreal's CBFT.

CBOFT-TV operated on channel 9 from a transmitter site located at Camp Fortune, Quebec. Studios and offices were at 250 Lanark Street in Ottawa. The CBC had operated CBOT Channel 4 in Ottawa since 1953. Until this time, CBOT had operated in English and French. With CBOFT on the air, CBOT switched to full-time English programming.

When CBOFT signed on the air, Georges Huard was in charge of the station. He had been manager of CBAF Radio in Moncton and came to Ottawa earlier this year as supervisor of CBC television operations in the city. He was also assistant to Charles Wright, manager of CBOT-TV.

1957

CBOFT had an effective radiated power of 31,000 watts video and 17,000 watts audio. 

 

1958

According to Elliott-Haynes CBOFT reached a total of 152,902 adult viewers every day.

H.G. Walker was named director for Ontario and for English networks, succeeding Ira Dilworth who became director of program evaluation.

1964

On July 24, CBOF-AM began broadcasting.

 

1965

Effective radiated power was unchanged from 1957.

 

Undated

Effective radiated power increased to 128,000 watts video and 25,600 watts audio.

 

1973

On January 12, the CRTC approved a new transmitter to rebroadcast CBOFT at Rapides-des-Joachims, Quebec. An additional CBOFT transmitter at Chapeau, Quebec was approved on January 18.

 

1974

CBOF-FM signed on the air September 12.

At this time, CBOFT aired an hour of local news weeknights, Tout a l'heure, from 6-7 p.m.

On December 15, CBOFT-1 Chapeau and CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims (both Quebec) began broadcasting.

1981

CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, Quebec signed on the air on December 15.

 

1990-91

On December 5, 1990, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation announced its intention to implement, effective immediately, various reductions in service and other measures intended to address an estimated budget shortfall of approximately $108 million for the coming fiscal year. Among the reductions was to change the status of CBLFT-TV Toronto (and its rebroadcasters, including CBEFT Windsor) to that of a full-time rebroadcaster of CBOFT-TV Ottawa. The CRTC approved these changes June 28, 1991.

 

1993

On June 10, CBOFT-TV was authorized to change the channel for transmitter CBLFT-7 Espanola from 11 to 4 and increase the transmitter power from 8.9 watts to 10 watts. This was the result of Global Communications Limited receiving approval for a transmitter at Sudbury using channel 11. Once the new Global transmitter was on the air, CBLFT-7 would move to channel 4.  

 

1995

On March 8, the CRTC approved the application to amend the licence for CBOFT Ottawa by changing the channel of its transmitter CBLFT-24 Dubreuilville from 7 to 11. The CBC indicated that this change would improve the quality of service to the Dubreuilville area. 

On August 28, CBOFT received approval to delete transmitter CBLFT-16 Driftwood as it was no longer required. 

1996

CBOFT received permission on April 25 to decrease effective radiated power for CBLFT Toronto from 1,760,000 watts to 615,600 watts. The change would result in a small reduction in the station's coverage contours with virtually no effect on the service provided to populated areas. Those areas that would not be covered by CBLFT would receive a good quality signal from CBLFT-8 Kitchener, CBLFT-11 Barrie or CBLFT-12 Peterborough.

On August 28, CBOFT received approval to change the channel of its transmitter CBLFT-21 Gogama, from 23 to 12 and decrease effective radiated power from 4,400 watts to 468 watts. This would be a replacement of the existing UHF transmitter with a lower power VHF transmitter which would reduce operating costs while maintaining coverage area.  

2000

As of this year, the following Ontario rebroadcast the programming of CBOFT: CBEFT Windsor, CBLFT Toronto, CBLFT-1 Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-2 Sudbury, CBLFT-3 Timmins, CBLFT-4 Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5 Hearst, CBLFT-6 Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7 Espanola, CBLFT-8 Kitchener, CBLFT-9 London, CBLFT-10 Chatham, CBLFT-11 Barrie, CBLFT-12 Peterborough, CBLFT-13 Belleville, CBLFT-14 Kingston, CBLFT-15 Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17 Sarnia, CBLFT-18 Thunder Bay, CBLFT-19 Nipigon, CBLFT-20 Sault Ste. Marie, CBLFT-21 Gogama, CBLFT-22 Chapleau, CBLFT-23 Wawa, CBLFT-24 Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25 Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26 Geraldton, and CBLFT-27 Mattawa. Quebec transmitters: CBOFT-1 Chapleau, CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims, CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, and CBFST-2 Témiscaming.

 

2004

On September 13, CBC/SRC Ottawa began broadcasting from new studios and offices at 181 Queen Street. Facilities had been scattered around the city. Radio had been in the Chateau Laurier and Television had operated from Lanark Street.

 

2005

On October 21, CBOFT was given approval to operate a transitional digital television station at Ottawa with a transmitter in Toronto. The Ottawa transmitter would operate from Camp Fortune, Quebec, on channel 22VU with an average effective radiated power of 36,300 watts. The transmitter in Toronto would operate from the CN Tower on channel 24C with an ERP of 2,500 watts. The CBC would surrender the authority granted for CBLFT Toronto to operate a transitional digital television station as the Toronto station would now operate as a rebroadcaster of CBOFT. 

 

2006

CBOFT-DT began transmissions on September 1. 

 

2009

On May 12 the CRTC renewed CBOFT's licence, including the following rebroadcast transmitters: CBOFT-DT Ottawa, CBOFT-DT-1 Toronto, CBEFT Windsor, CBLFT Toronto, CBLFT-1 Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-10 Chatham, CHLFT-11 Barrie, CBLFT-12 Peterborough, CBLFT-13 Belleville, CBLFT-14 Kingston, CBLFT-15 Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17 Sarnia, CBLFT-18 Thunder Bay, CBLFT-19 Nipigon, CBLFT-2 Sudbury, CBLFT-20 Sault Ste. Marie, CBLFT-21 Gogama, CBLFT-22 Chapleau, CBLFT-23 Wawa, CBLFt-24 Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25 Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26 Geraldton, CBLFT-27 Mattawa, CBLFT-3 Timmins, CBLFT-4 Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5 Hearst, CBLFT-6 Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7 Espanola, CBLFT-8 Kitchener, and CBLFT-9 London. In Quebec: CBFST-2 Temiscaming, CBOFT-1 Chapeau, CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims, and CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus. 

 

2010

On April 28, the CRTC approved an application by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation to operate a new regional television station in Toronto. CBLFT-TV Toronto must broadcast a minimum of five hours per week, on average on an annual basis, of local programming intended for television viewers in Toronto and a large part of Ontario. The Commission also approved an application by the CBC to amend the broadcasting licence for CBOFT-TV Ottawa in order to transfer the following transmitters to the new regional television station CBLFT-TV Toronto: 

CBLFT-1-TV Sturgeon Falls, CBLFT-2-TV Sudbury, CBLFT-3-TV Timmins, CBLFT-4-TV Kapuskasing, CBLFT-5-TV Hearst, CBLFT-6-TV Elliot Lake, CBLFT-7-TV Espanola, CBLFT-8-TV Kitchener, CBLFT-9-TV London, CBLFT-10-TV Chatham, CBLFT-11-TV Barrie, CBLFT-12-TV Peterborough, CBLFT-13-TV Belleville, CBLFT-14-TV Kingston, CBLFT-15-TV Penetanguishene, CBLFT-17-TV Sarnia, CBLFT-18-TV Thunder Bay, CBLFT-19-TV Nipigon, CBLFT-20-TV Sault Ste. Marie, CBLFT-21-TV Gogama, CBLFT-22-TV Chapleau, CBLFT-23-TV Wawa, CBLFT-24-TV Dubreuilville, CBLFT-25-TV Manitouwadge, CBLFT-26-TV Geraldton, CBLFT-27-TV Mattawa, CBEFT Windsor and CBFST-2-TV Témiscamingue. The Commission also approved the CBC's application to amend the broadcasting licence for CBOFT-DT Ottawa in order to transfer the transmitter CBLFT-DT Toronto to the new regional television station CBLFT-TV Toronto. The licensee indicated that until 1991 it had operated CBLFT-TV, a regional French-language television station in Toronto. This station was closed at the licensee's request and converted to a rebroadcasting transmitter for CBOFT-TV Ottawa. The CBC now wished to convert the transmitter CBLFT-TV to a regional station in order to offer local and regional programming to the population of the Toronto region on a regular basis. The CBC stated that it currently offered local programming during station breakaways from CBOFT-TV Ottawa. However, this local programming offering was not the result of a regulatory requirement or a particular condition of licence. The CBC indicated that it wished to increase its commitments to the production of local and regional programming for the Toronto region. In addition, the CBC requested authorization to solicit local advertising in the area served by the regional station and its transmitters. As a condition of licence, CBLFT shall broadcast a minimum of five hours per week, on average on an annual basis, of local programming intended for television viewers in Toronto and a large part of Ontario. For the purposes of this condition of licence, "local programming" means "programming produced by local stations with local personnel or programming produced by locally-based independent producers that reflects the particular needs and interests of residents in the Toronto market and surrounding areas."

On August 9, the CRTC administratively renewed the licence of CBOFT-DT and CBOFT (and its transmitters) to March 31, 2011.

 

2011

On March 29, the CRTC administratively renewed the licence for CBOFT-TV until August 31, 2012. The Commission noted that it did not intend to renew authorizations for full-power analog transmitters operating in the mandatory markets or on channels 52 to 69 outside the mandatory markets beyond August 31, 2011. 

By that time, the Commission expected licensees to have the necessary authority to broadcast in digital. In addition, the Commission imposed the following condition of licence on stations that operated in mandatory markets or on channels 52 to 69 outside the mandatory markets: Unless otherwise authorized by the Commission, the licensee shall not transmit analog television signals after 31 August 2011 in mandatory markets designated as such by the Commission in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2011-184 or transmit television signals on channels 52 to 69. The CRTC also noted that pursuant to Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2010-69, it did not intend to renew authorizations to operate transitional digital transmitters included in these licences, beyond August 31, 2011. 

The CRTC approved the amendment to the licence of CBOFT-TV to add a post-transition digital television transmitter on channel 9 with a maximum effective radiated power of 3,500 watts (1,800 watts average). A directional antenna would be used at the existing Camp Fortune site with effective height of 424.9 metres.

The deadline for conversion from analog to digital in mandatory markets was August 31. CBOFT-DT had been operational on transitional digital channel 22. On August 31, analog channel 9 was shut down and CBOFT moved from transitional channel 22 to post-transitional digital channel 9 (original analog channel) with a virtual channel of 9.1.

 

2012

On April 5, the CRTC approved the application by the CBC to change the technical parameters for CBOFT-DT Ottawa by increasing the average effective radiated power from 1,800 to 282,000 watts (maximum ERP from 3,500 to 480,000 watts), by decreasing the effective height of antenna above average terrain from 424.9 to 397.7 metres and by changing the channel from 9 to 33. The CBC stated that following the transition to digital, it received many complaints concerning signal reception problems for CBOFT-DT in the Ottawa-Gatineau area. The CBC therefore proposed this amendment to remedy the reception problems. 

On July 17, the CRTC approved the request to amend the licences for 23 English- and French-language television stations operated by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in order that reference to all analog transmitters be deleted. The CBC planned to cease operation of all these transmitters on 31 July 2012. The licences for the following transmitters were removed from the CBOFT-DT licence: CBOFT-1 Chapeau, CBOFT-3 Notre-Dame-du-Laus, and CBOFT-2 Rapides-des-Joachims (all in QC).

On August 9, the CRTC administratively renewed the licence of CBOFT-DT until August 31, 2013.

2013

On May 28, the CRTC renewed CBOFT-DT's licence for a five year term, to August 31, 2018.

 

CTA Donation

We rely on grants and donations from industry

View our sponsors
CTA Personalities

Learn more about the personalities involved in Canada's broadcasting history.

Learn more